Skip Navigation
Oklahoma State University

Construction management technology students represent OSU in the Region 5 Associated Schools of Construction Competition

(STILLWATER, Okla., February 23, 2017) – Sixteen construction management technology (CMT) students and two architecture students competed at the Region 5 Associated Schools of Construction (ASC) Student Competition.

During a 16-hour work period on campus, the design and build, heavy civil and commercial building teams produced estimates, schedules, site specific logistics and safety plans that were included in their proposals. The design/build team also created a building design.

The teams then traveled to Dallas and presented their projects to sponsors. JE Dunn Construction sponsored the design/build team, McCarthy Construction sponsored the heavy civil team and Beatty Construction sponsored the commercial team.

“The orange shined bright in Dallas at the Region 5 ASC competition,” says Heather Yates, CMT associate professor and ASC Region 5 director and program coordinator. “We had a number of OSU alumni in the room for the awards banquet, and it was fun to share the success of the students and program with them. It was a great night to be a cowboy.”

The OSU teams brought home trophies in all three categories in which they competed. Results:

First place: Design and Build Team
Cameron Patterson, ARCH, Georgetown, Texas
Eric Horrmann, ARCH, Edmond, OK
Charles Grothe, CMT, Enid, OK
Blake Larsen, CMT, Jenks, OK
Kalayna Bowman, CMT, Moore, OK
Stephen Eastham, CMT, Dewey, OK
Mark Pruitt, coach, CMT faculty

Second place: Heavy Civil Team
Brooks Thompson, CMT, Ada, OK
Will Little, CMT, Oklahoma City, OK
Reese Layton, CMT, Plano, Texas
D.J. Niebrugge, CMT, Edmond, OK
Tucker Fox, CMT Edmond, OK
Miguel Reyna, CMT, Mexico City, Mexico
Richard Pratt, alternate, CMT, Houston, Texas
Rachel Mosier, coach, CMT faculty

Third place: Commercial Team
Chis Lily, CMT, Jenks, OK
Andrew Malamut, CMT, Flower Mound, Texas
Taylor West, CMT, Stillwater, OK
Brit Jordan, CMT, Flower Mound, Texas
Curren Noel, CMT, The Woodlands, Texas
A.J. Ruark, CMT, Stillwater, OK
Lantz Holtzhower, coach, CMT faculty

Stephen Eastham and Cameron Patterson also won second and third best speaker, respectively, in the design and build category.

RELEASE CONTACT: Chelsea Robinson | CEAT Marketing | 405-744-5831 |

Oklahoma State University is a modern land-grant university that prepares students for success. OSU has more than 36,000 students across its five-campus system and more than 25,000 on its combined Stillwater and Tulsa campuses, with students from all 50 states and around 120 nations. Established in 1890, Oklahoma State has graduated more than 260,000 students who have been serving Oklahoma and the world for 125 years.