The official magazine of the College of Engineering, Architecture and Technology

Featured article: **MATT PERRY**





MATT PERRY

Dr. Matt Perry is an Oklahoma State University alumnus with three degrees in electrical engineering. He last graduated from OSU with his doctorate in 1991, where he focused on signal processing, system theory and mathematics.

Perry has over 35 years of industry and academic experience, spanning three different areas: defense, semiconductors, and hyperscale hardware and software

systems. He is currently the general manager of silicon and hardware systems for Microsoft's Azure Hardware Division, where he is developing next generation data center silicon/hardware solutions with emphasis on artificial intelligence, computation and intelligent edge.

Perry has had an impact on many dimensions of the field. He was an accomplished researcher and published papers in signal processing, both working as an engineer and as an educator. Those skills served him well as he became an engineering product leader at Motorola, developing and shipping video conferencing chipsets.

When he moved to Advanced Micro Devices in 1995, he supplemented his combination of engineering and research skills with a move into corporate strategy. Perry managed AMD's strategy with respect to Intel along with their technical and intellectual property strategies.

After AMD, Perry moved into a business entrepreneur role, serving as the CEO of three different startup companies (Transmeta, RPO and Montalvo). Transmeta had been a darling of Silicon Valley with their ambition of revolutionizing microprocessor architecture, but the competition proved too challenging, causing them to fall on hard times. Perry was brought in to chart a new course, which he did by shifting Transmeta to an IP licensing company. That move proved successful

and Transmeta was able to license large portions of their portfolio for nine figures of revenue.

At RPO, he led successful technology development and financing rounds. He then led Montalvo to be one of the only companies successfully developing x86 microprocessors outside of Intel and AMD, and successfully sold the company to Sun Microsystems.

After the Sun Microsystems acquisition, Perry moved into the role of corporate executive, overseeing strategic partnerships, IP licensing and strategic plans for multiple server designs. In 2014, he moved to Microsoft, where he took on an even broader role, overseeing hardware partnerships and hardware-software codesign for the Windows business.

Perry commends his professors and the OSU College of Engineering, Architecture and Technology's staff for providing him with the support he needed to graduate with his undergraduate, master's and doctoral degrees at OSU.

"One of my proudest moments at OSU is when I completed my doctoral defense," Perry said. "I will never forget standing in front of my major professor, Dr. Rao Yarlagadda, as he extended his hand to shake and said, 'Congratulations Dr. Perry, you have passed,' after years of work and research. I would not have been able to do it without the help of the Cowboy family."

Perry reflected on his time at OSU, giving advice to current students.

"One of the most important lessons I learned from OSU is to branch out and try things outside of your comfort zone," he said. "Without doing this, it is more challenging to grow and become the person you want to be. You may find a new passion or hobby, but going outside of your comfort zone and learning new things will open doors that you never knew were available."

2004	David Kyle	2007	Michael Damore	2010	Ray O. Johnson	2013
2004	Eddie M. Jones	2007	Leslie Priebe	2010	Jerry Banks	2013
2004	Neal E. Jones	2008	Ronald L. Hoffman	2010	Juan Carlos Calderon	2013
2005	James Brooks Cummins	2008	Donald D. Humphreys	2011	Jeffrey Fisher	2013
2005	Gordon E. Eubanks Jr.	2008	Samir A. Lawrence	2011	Lakshmaiah Ponnala	2013
2005	Behrokh Khoshnevis	2008	Ronnie Morgan	2011	Enos Stover	2014
2006	Sanjiv Sidhu	2009	Charles Kridler	2011	Paul Liao	2014
2006	James L. Vining	2009	Meemong Lee	2012	Wilson Shoffner	2014
2006	Jack B. ReVelle	2009	A. Joe Mitchell Jr.	2012	Calvin Vogt	2014
2006	Gary A. Pope	2009	Sridhar Mitta	2012	Jerry Winchester	2014
2007	Rand Elliott	2009	Richard Weidner	2012	Cassie Mitchell	2014

Kenneth E. Case
Harvey B. Manbeck
Rixio Medina
Robert Schaefer
Rick Webb
Debbie Adams
Alan Brunacini
Harold Courson
Decker Dawson
Johann Demmel
Jeff Hume