Skip Navigation
Oklahoma State University

Omer San Selected to Receive Early Career Research Funding

STILLWATER, Okla. – The Department of Energy (DOE) has selected Omer San, OSU mechanical and aerospace engineering associate professor as one of 84 scientists from across the nation to receive significant funding for research as part of the DOE Office of Science’s Early Career Research Program.

“Supporting talented researchers early in their career is key to building and maintaining a skilled and effective scientific workforce for the nation. By investing in the next generation of scientific researchers, we are supporting lifelong discovery science to fuel the nation’s innovation system,” said Secretary of Energy Rick Perry “We are proud of the accomplishments these young scientists have already made, and look forward to following their achievements in years to come.”

San has been an assistant professor at OSU since 2015. He received his bachelor’s in aeronautical engineering from Istanbul Technical University in 2005, his master’s in aerospace engineering from Old Dominion University in 2007, and his Ph.D. in engineering mechanics from Virginia Tech in 2012.

His field of study is centered upon the development, analysis and application of advanced computational methods in science and engineering with a particular emphasis on fluid dynamics across a variety of spatial and temporal scales.

Advances in artificial intelligence have led to a renaissance in learning and extracting patterns from complex data. Despite successes in other areas, applying machine learning techniques in the field of fluid mechanics is relatively new. San’s lab thus explores big data approaches for geophysical turbulence physics.

Under the DOE program, San will receive a grant for at least $150,000 per year for five years. The research grants are planned for five years and will cover salary and research expenses.

To be eligible for the DOE award, a researcher must be an untenured, tenure-track assistant or associate professor at a U.S. academic institution or a full-time employee at a DOE national laboratory, who received a Ph.D. within the past 10 years. Research topics are required to fall within one of the Department's Office of Science's six major program offices: Advanced Scientific Computing Research, Basic Energy Sciences, Biological and Environmental Research, Fusion Energy Sciences, High Energy Physics, Nuclear Physics

Awardees were selected from a large pool of university- and national laboratory-based applicants. Selection was based on peer review by outside scientific experts.

A list of the 84 awardees, their institutions, and titles of research projects is appended and is also available on the Early Career Research Program webpage HERE. The effort, now in its ninth year, is designed to bolster the nation’s scientific workforce by providing support to exceptional researchers

The official press release from the DOE can be found here,

RELEASE CONTACT: Kylie Fanning | CEAT Marketing | 405-744-2745 |

Oklahoma State University is a modern land-grant university that prepares students for success. OSU has more than 35,000 students across its five-campus system and more than 24,000 on its combined Stillwater and Tulsa campuses, with students from all 50 states and around 120 nations. Established in 1890, Oklahoma State has graduated more than 240,000 students who have been serving the state of Oklahoma, the nation and the world.