Skip to main content

Engineering, Architecture and Technology

Open Main MenuClose Main Menu

SME recognizes Hitesh Vora as 2022 Distinguished Faculty Advisor

Friday, October 14, 2022

SME selected Dr. Hitesh Vora, associate professor of mechanical engineering technology (MET) and mechatronic and robotics engineering technology as one of six Distinguished Faculty Advisors for 2022 in recognition of their service to the organization and their student chapters in advancing manufacturing knowledge, education and SME's mission of promoting manufacturing technology and developing a skilled workforce.


SME is an association of professionals, educators and students committed to helping manufacturers innovate, grow and prosper by promoting technology, developing a skilled workforce and connecting the manufacturing industry.

Established in 2011, the award is presented to SME student chapter faculty advisors to recognize their continued oversight and engagement efforts in advocating for students and the manufacturing industry. 


“When I was a student, I participated in SME activities and I learned a lot,” said Vora.  “Today, I value all I learned from my experience with SME.  I would like to give back the experiences I had to my students.  That is the main reason I’ve led the efforts to start the SME student chapter here at OSU.  I provide mentorship to the students and organize several networking events, plan tours, webinars, workshops, trainings, etc. to make our student chapter successful.  I’m so proud to be associated with this chapter.”


“Hitesh has done a great job of creating opportunities for our students to be exposed to real world engineering,” said Aaron Alexander, associate professor of MET.  “This includes recruiting students to do energy audits of commercial companies through the Industrial Assessment Center, but also his shepherding of students in the OSU MET SME section.”


“These faculty advisors, all SME members, demonstrate the leadership that’s needed to guide the next generation of manufacturing talent,” said 2022 SME Member Council Chair, Jennifer Fielding, PhD, Air Force Research Laboratory. “The commitment from each professor is imperative for the growth of the organization’s student chapters.”


SME student chapter faculty advisors utilize their expertise to integrate real-world manufacturing experiences into their classrooms, offer on-site research lab experience, sponsor attendance at industry conferences and co-author scientific papers published in peer-reviewed journals and professional conferences. This year’s awardees include a cross-section of engineering professors from universities across the U.S.


A full list of 2022 recipients are as follows:


  • Bahram Asiabanpour, PhD, CMfgE, Professor and Manufacturing Engineering Program Coordinator, Ingram School of Engineering, Texas State University, San Marcos, Texas
  • Vishwas N. Bedekar, PhD,Associate Professor, Department of Engineering Technology, Middle Tennessee State University, Murfreesboro, Tennessee
  • Yalcin M. Ertekin, PhD, CMfgE,Clinical Professor, Department of Engineering Technology, Drexel University, Philadelphia
  • Jerry Gintz,Senior Lecturer, Honors Faculty, School of Manufacturing Systems and Networks, Arizona State University, Mesa, Arizona
  • Nguyen P. “Wayne” Hung, PhD,Professor, Faculty Fellow, Texas A&M University, College Station, Texas
  • Hitesh D. Vora, PhD,Associate Professor, Mechanical Engineering Technology, Oklahoma State University, Stillwater, Oklahoma

Each faculty advisor receives a monetary award from SME to advance their professional development in the field, as well as a certificate of appreciation. Additional award information can be found at

Back To Top