Skip to main content

Engineering, Architecture and Technology

Open Main MenuClose Main Menu

ASME Student Section at OSU wins the OSU-Tulsa Student Organization of the Year award

Wednesday, May 1, 2024

ASME Student Section

The American Society of Mechanical Engineers (ASME) Student Section at OSU-Tulsa won the 2024 Student Organization of the Year award.


This distinguished group of student leaders has demonstrated exemplary performance in their officer roles, setting a new benchmark for leadership and community engagement. Their dedication to fostering academic excellence and professional development among their peers is commendable. They have initiated and successfully executed multiple activities, including:


  1. Study sessions before exams to support struggling students.
  2. Tours to industrial sites in Tulsa (Oologah power plant, AXH, American Airlines, AAON).
  3. Co-hosting seminars with the Zink Center Leadership Seminar Series, featuring Dr. William D. Palva.

These initiatives have significantly enhanced the educational experience, bridging the gap between theoretical knowledge and real-world application. The tours they have organized offer invaluable insights into the engineering and construction processes behind heat exchangers and power plants, as well as the aviation industry.


These experiences not only enrich the student's understanding of mechanical engineering but also highlight the practical applications and technological innovations in the field.


Students involved in this student organization are:
Kathryn Martin
– President
Toni Pearl
– Vice President
Carson Siegenthaler
– Treasurer

Nicholas Shane Subramanian – Secretary

Taylor Sunday – Liaison

Benjamin Davis – Communication Coordinator

Dr. Khaled Sallam - Advisor


“This group of students’ proactive approach to leadership training, as evidenced by their attendance at the National ASME student training session in Dallas, exemplifies their dedication to excellence and continuous improvement,” said Dr. Khaled Sallam, Associate Professor of Mechanical and Aerospace Engineering. “Under their leadership, the student section has flourished, embodying the spirit of ASME and contributing significantly to the advancement of mechanical engineering education and practice. Their achievements are a testament to their exceptional leadership, dedication, and passion for engineering.  I believe they truly exemplify the qualities and values that this award seeks to recognize and are deserving of this honor.”

Back To Top