Skip to main content

Engineering, Architecture and Technology

Open Main MenuClose Main Menu

Guest speaker at Distinguished Speaker Series

ConocoPhillips Distinguished Speaker Series

The Distinguished Speaker Series was created to highlight the importance of fire protection and safety in society and to provide opportunities for the student body to engage with prominent industry leaders.  

Previous Speakers

Spring 2023 - Tony Militello, PE, CSP, ARM, BCSP Foundation Board of Trustees, SFPE Board of Directors, Lead EHS Consultant - Shirley Parsons, North America

Spring 2022 - G. Keith Bryant, Oklahoma State Fire Marshal, Former U.S. Fire Administrator - President Appointee, Chief, Oklahoma City Fire Department, retired


Fall 2021 - Micah Backlund, CSP, HSE Director, Helmerich and Payne International Drilling Co.


Spring 2021 - Jack Poole, PE, SFPE President and CEO, Poole Fire Protection

Fall 2020 - John Frucci, Director, OSU Center for Fire Explosives and Investigations


Fall 2019 - Treasa Turnbeaugh and Josh Franklin, Board of Certified Safety Professionals


Spring 2019 - Linda M. Biernacki, Founder and President, Fire Tech Systems, At-large Director American Fire Sprinkler Association

Fall 2018 - Rixio Medina, ASSP President and OSU Alumni

Spring 2018 - Dan Coombs, VP EHS, Lyondellbasell Chemical Corporation


Spring 2017 - Kate Holzhauser, Vice President of EHS&S, ChevronPhillips 

Fall 2016 - Jim Pauley, President & CEO, National Fire Protection Association

Spring 2016 - David Bates, OSHA Area Director, OKC; David Leavitt, Deputy Administrative Law Judge, Oklahoma Corporation; Warren Hubler, Vice President of HSE, HP International Drilling Co.

Fall 2015 - Denise Smith, PhD, Professor and Research Scientist, Skidmore College and the University of Illinois Fire Service Institute

Spring 2015 - Mike Ferrow, Vice President of HSE, ConocoPhillips

Fall 2014 - Kathleen Almand, Vice President, National Fire Protection Association

Spring 2014 - Lt. General Russel Honoré, Commanding General, U.S. Army First Army and Joint Task Force Katrina 

Fall 2013 - Dr. Albert Vasquez, PhD, Dean of Campus Security, Student Health, and Safety, Santa Monica College

Spring 2013 - Craig Torres, MS, CIH, Environ Corporation

Fall 2012 - Chief Tonya Hoover, California State Fire Marshal

Spring 2012 - Dr. Perry Logan, PhD, CIH, President of the Academy of Industrial Hygiene, Global Manager of 3M Corporate Industrial Hygiene

Fall 2011 - Dr. Sam Mannan, PhD, PE, CSP, Regents Professor and Director, Mary Kay O'Connor Process Safety Center, Texas A&M University

Spring 2011 - Honorable Tim Manning, FEMA Deputy Director for Protection and National Preparedness, Presidential Appointee

Fall 2010 - Honorable James Shannon, President, National Fire Protection Association - former Massachusetts Attorney General and Member of the US House of Representatives

Spring 2010 - Chief John Norman, Chief of Special Operations, Search and Rescue Manager-9/11 World Trade Center Attack, Fire Department of New York

Fall 2009 - Honorable John Howard, MD, MPH, JD, LLM, Director of World Trade Center Medical Monitoring and Treatment Program, Director of the National Institute for Occupational Safety and Health, Presidential Appointee

Spring 2009 - Honorable John Bresland, Chairman and CEO – United States Chemical Safety Board, Presidential Appointee

Back To Top