Skip to main content

Faculty Spotlight

MSE Faculty members lead several research efforts to make fundamental discoveries in materials, develop new technologies, and create new processes and products. They are members and fellows of international scientific societies that recognize distinguished achievement, including ACS, ASEE, ASM International, ASME, American Ceramic Society, MRS, SAMPE. Society of Experimental Mechanics, TMS, and many more. Faculty have also received highly competitive NSF Career and PECASE awards.

Dr. Raman Singh

Dr. Raman Singh

Dr. Raman Singh currently serves as the associate dean for engineering at Oklahoma State University-Tulsa and as a faculty member in the School of Materials Science and Engineering and the School of Mechanical and Aerospace Engineering in the College of Engineering, Architecture and Technology at OSU. He also serves as the director of the Helmerich Advanced Technology Research Center on the OSU-Tulsa campus, director of EPSCor, and is appointed as the Helmerich Family Endowed Chair Professor of Engineering.

Singh’s research interests are in experimental mechanics, multifunctional materials and fracture mechanics. His academic interests are in recruiting, mentorship and retention of non-traditional and underrepresented student groups. His research has been funded by the National Science Foundation, NASA, the U.S. Army Research Office, the Department of Energy, the Office of Naval Research, the Oklahoma Center for the Advancement of Science & Technology, the Oklahoma Transportation Commission and industry. He is the author or co-author of several archival journal publications and conference proceedings and holds three patents. He serves as the vice president for the executive board for the Society of Experimental Mechanics (SEM) and as an associate technical editor for the journal Experimental Mechanics.


Singh holds M.S. and Ph.D. degrees in Mechanical Engineering and Applied Mechanics from the University of Rhode Island and a B.Tech. Degree in Mechanical Engineering from the Indian Institute of Technology-Kanpur, India.

Back To Top