Skip to main content

About Dr. Raj N. Singh

Professor Singh is a Regents Professor, and served as Williams Companies Distinguished Chair Professor, Director Energy Technologies Programs, and founding Head of School of Materials Science and Engineering (MSE) at Oklahoma State University. He received his Sc.D. degree in Materials Science and Engineering-Ceramics from M.I.T. He is a Fellow of the National Academy of Inventors (NAI), a Fellow of the American Ceramic Society, a Fellow of the ASM International, and a Fellow of the Graduate School at University of Cincinnati (UC), recipient of numerous awards, and author or co-author of over 350 research articles, 27 granted patents, and articles in several books. He has worked at several R&D organizations such as Argonne National Laboratory, GE R&D Center and University of Cincinnati before joining his present position. He has also served as Department Head of Materials Science and Engineering and Department of Chemical and Materials Engineering at UC.
His current research areas are processing and properties of nanostructured materials and nanotubes/nanorods, materials for fuel cells, batteries, supercapacitors, nanomaterials for medicine, "Smart"/ferroelectric materials, structural composites, and novel thin films. He is recognized for scientific and technological contributions to ceramic matrix composites, diamond thin films, BNNT, electrolyte retainer for molten carbonate fuel cells (MCFC), electrolyte for Na-S battery, self-healing glass seals and electrolyte and electrodes for solid oxide fuel cells (SOFC) and ferroelectric materials with large (0.8%) strain capability.
Dr. Singh pioneered and developed a novel process of melt infiltration (MI) for fabricating fully dense and net-shape SiC fiber-reinforced ceramic matrix composites (CMCs). Gas turbine engine manufacturers and users such as GE, UTC, RollsRoyce, NASA and USAF in the USA as well as worldwide companies in Europe and Japan are pursuing this technology. The MI-CMC products are being used as vanes, blades shrouds and liners in hot sections of turbine engines. GE-Aviation has started several new businesses for manufacturing MI-CMC parts for use in current and future gas turbines with projected market well over tens of billions of dollars for aircraft gas turbines alone. GE Aviation has used these CMCs for the GE LEAP engine for Boeing 737, AirBus A320Neo and COMAC aircrafts since 2016 and GE9x engines for the new Boeing 777 starting in 2019-2020. These are the world’s first jet engines with MI-ceramic composites used as structural turbine components because of the pioneering work of Dr. Singh.
Research ProjectsPublicationsResearch Facilities




  • National Academy of Inventors Fellow (2015)

  • Albert Sauveur Achievement Award of ASM International (2016)

  • Regents Professor, OSU (2015)

  • Fellow of Graduate School, University of Cincinnati (2007)

  • Distinguished Research Award, College of Engineering, UC (2006)

  • Outstanding Research Award, College of Engineering, UC (2005)

  • Outstanding Research Professor Award, Department of Chem. and Materials Eng, UC (2005)

  • Herman Schneider Professor of Materials Engineering (2003)

  • Fellow of the ASM International (1996)

  • Faculty Achievement Award, University of Cincinnati (1995)

  • Fellow of the American Ceramic Society (1992)

  • Whitney Gallery of Technical Achievers for Pioneering MI-CMC Technology GE-CR&D (1990)

  • Distinguished Service Awards Argonne National Lab (1978), GE-CR&D (1984), OSU (2017)

  • Publication Awards; GE-CR&D (1984, 1988)

  • Patent Awards GE-CR&D: Bronze, Silver, and Gold Patent Medallions (1983, 1987, 1988)


Research Group and Recent Graduates


  • Dr. Nirmal Govindaraju: Research Assistant Professor

  • Dr. Parvaneh Rouhani: Post Doctoral Fellow

  • Ms. Disna Samarkoon: Graduate student (Ph.D.-2019)

  • MsParvaneh Rouhani: Graduate student (Ph.D.-2018)

  • Mr. Mike Rottmayer: Graduate student at UC/AFRL (Ph.D.-2016)

  • Mr. Thomas Howell: Graduate student at UC/AFRL (Ph.D.-2014)

  • MrNing Tianxiang: Graduate student (M.S.-2017)

  • MsRagini Thurpatt: Graduate student (M.S.-2017)

  • Mr. Marshall Harrup: Graduate student (M.S.-2015)

  • MrRanjan Singhal: Graduate student-Ph.D.

  • MrPadmanapan Rao: Graduate student-Ph.D.


Back To Top